Bioneers 2020 Conference - Beyond the Great Unraveling: Weaving the World Anew Bioneers 2020 Conference - Beyond the Great Unraveling: Weaving the World Anew

We’re excited to announce the release of all 2020 keynote addresses! Visit the full collection here. Stay tuned for more as we unpack and share the collective wisdom from the 2020 Bioneers Conference. Panels, performances and more will be released on ongoing.

Bioneers is excited to introduce the 2020 Bioneers Conference: a virtual gathering encapsulating the magic of our annual live conference. Join us live Dec 5-6 and 12-13 or On-Demand through the entire month of December.

This year’s theme is “Beyond the Great Unraveling: Weaving the World Anew.” As we enter into a permanent emergency, it’s much easier to see what’s dying than what’s being born. But since the beginning, Bioneers has been about what’s being born. As always, we’ll be showcasing many of the most visionary and practical solutions afoot today, and many of our greatest visionary innovators, including the greatest people you’ve never heard of.

Now more than ever, we’re profoundly grateful to be able to gather together in community and shine a light on pathways forward and to celebrate each other.

Bioneers 2020 Conference - Beyond the Great Unraveling: Weaving the World Anew

2020 Keynote Speakers

Kenny Ausubel
CEO and Founder
john a. powell
Othering and Belonging Institute
Cutcha Risling Baldy
Native Women's Collective
Paul Stamets
Mycologist and Author
Vanessa Daniel
Executive Director
Groundswell Fund
Mark Plotkin
Co-Founder and President
Amazon Conservation Team
Ayana Elizabeth Johnson
CEO and Founder
Ocean Collectiv
Bakari Kitwana
Executive Director
Rap Sessions
Mari Margil
Executive Director
Center for Democratic and Environmental Rights
Thomas Linzey
Senior Legal Counsel
Center for Democratic and Environmental Rights
Leah Penniman
Co-Executive Director
Soul Fire Farm
Nina Simons
Chloe Maxmin
State Senator
Thom Hartmann
Progressive Talk Show Host
Trathen Heckman
Founder and Director
Daily Acts Organization
Jamie Margolin
Zero Hour
The Destiny Arts Youth Performance Company

The Destiny Arts Youth Performance Company
Ilarion (Kuuyux) Merculieff
Founder and President
Global Center for Indigenous Leadership and Lifeways
The Thrive Choir

The Thrive Choir
Rising Appalachia

Rising Appalachia

2020 Panel Speakers

Angela Amanakwa Kaxuyana

Brazilian Coordination of Indigenous peoples in the Amazon (COIAB)
Brialle Ringer

Be Well with Brialle
Michael Ableman
Sole Food Street Farms
Karyemaitre Aliffe
Executive Officer
Gar Alperovitz
Democracy Collaborative
Jeannette Armstrong
Associate Professor
UBC Okanagan
Olka Baldeh
Communications Manager
Essie Justice Group
Sonali Sangeeta Balajee
The Bodhi Project
Monika Bauerlein
Mother Jones
Orland Bishop
Founder and Director
ShadeTree Multicultural Foundation
Joan Blades
May Boeve
Executive Director
Francoise Bourzat
California Institute of Integral Studies
Johanna Bozuwa
Co-Manager of the Climate and Energy Program
The Democracy Collaborative
Maurice BP-Weeks
Co-Executive Director
ACRE (Action Center on Race and the Economy)
Heber Brown
Founding Director
Orita’s Cross Freedom School
LaTosha Brown
Black Voters Matter Fund
Alexis Bunten
Program Manager for Bioneers’ Indigeneity Program
Karl Burkart
Managing Director
One Earth
Casey Camp-Horinek
Environmental Ambassador
Ponca Tribe of Oklahoma
Brendan Clarke
The Ojai Foundation
Katsi Cook
The Spirit Aligned Leadership Program
Gigi Coyle
Beyond Boudaries
Sahana Dharmapuri
Our Secure Future
Clare Dubois
Crystal Echo Hawk
Founder and Executive Director
Jodie Evans
Paloma Flores

San Francisco Unified School District’s Indian Education Program
Howard Frumkin
University of Washington
Kerry Fugett
Leadership Institute Manager
Daily Acts
Samara Gaev
Founder and Artistic Director
Truthworker Theatre Company
Roberta Giordano
Finance Campaigner
The Sunrise Project
Cory Greene
Co-Founder and Healing Justice Organizer
How Our Lives link Altogether (H.O.L.L.A.)
Dave Hage
Weaving Earth Center for Relational Education
Thomas Hanna
Research Director
The Democracy Collaborative
J.P. Harpignies
Senior Producer
Kathleen Harrison
President & Projects Director
Botanical Dimensions
Lil Milagro Henriquez
Founder and Executive Director
Mycelium Youth Network
Rebekah Hinojosa
Gulf Coast Campaign Representative
Sierra Club
Alfred Howard
The Redwoods Music
Tokata (Future) Iron Eyes
Activist, Singer/Songwriter
William B. Karesh
Executive Vice President for Health and Policy
EcoHealth Alliance
Brett KenCairn
Senior Policy Advisor for Climate and Resilience
Boulder, Colorado
Jahan Khaligi
Program Manager
Chapter 510
Liz Kennedy
Communications Director and Research Fellow
Lead to Life
Winona LaDuke
Executive Director
Honor the Earth
Jensine Larsen
World Pulse
Amy Lenzo

World Cafes
Manny Lieras
Title VI Indian Education Coordinator
American Indian Child Resource Center
Natalia Linares
Communications Organizer
New Economy Coalition
Jonathan Lundgren
Blue Dasher Farm
Oren Lyons
Onandaga Nation, Haudenosaunee
Joanna Macy
Creator/Root Teacher
The Work That Reconnects
Nancy Mancias
Campaign Organizer
Ginny McGinn
Executive Director, Organizational Development and Strategy
Center for Whole Communities
Karla McLaren
Founder and CEO
Emotion Dynamics LLC
Tim Merry
Spoken Word Improviser/Poet
Stacy Mitchell
Institute for Local Self-Reliance
Ladybird Morgan
Co-Founder and Executive Director
The Humane Prison Hospice Project
Mutale Nkonde
AI For the People
Sikowis (aka Christine Nobiss)
Great Plains Action Society
Julian Brave NoiseCat
Vice President of Policy & Strategy
Data for Progress
Tommy Orange
There There
Tia Oros Peters
Seventh Generation Fund for Indigenous Peoples
David Orr
Professor of Environmental Studies and Politics (Emeritus)
Oberlin College
Scott Parkin
Organizing Director
Rainforest Action Network
Naima Penniman
Program Director
Soul Fire Farm
Isaiah Poole
Vice President of Communications
The Democracy Collaborative
Rick Reed
BeeLine Associates
Guy Reiter
Executive Director
Doria Robinson
Executive Director
Urban Tilth
Libby Roderick
Difficult Dialogues Initiative
Cara Romero
Program Director of the Bioneers Indigenous Knowledge Program
Greisa Martinez Rosas
Executive Director
United We Dream
Kristin Rothballer
Senior Fellow
Center for Whole Communities
Will Scott
Co-Founder and Facilitator
Weaving Earth Center for Relational Education
David Shaw
Santa Cruz Permaculture
Sharon Shay Sloan
Ojai Foundation
Najari Smith
Executive Director
Rich City Rides
Oscar Soria
Campaign Director
Jerry Tello
Director of Training and Technical Assistance
National Compadres Network
Sarah Thomas
Co-Founder and Senior Advisor
Funder Collaborative on Oil and Gas
Vien Truong
Directs the Climate Justice efforts
Tom Steyer PAC
Deborah Eden Tull
Relational Mindfulness
Carly Vynne
Strategic Partner
Nichole Warwick
Environmental Health Programs Manager
Daily Acts
Rowen White
Sierra Seeds
Justin Winters
Co-Founder and Executive Director
One Earth
Bioneers 2020 Conference - Beyond the Great Unraveling: Weaving the World Anew
Bioneers 2020 Conference - Beyond the Great Unraveling: Weaving the World Anew